Making a quick chart with RaphaelJS and Redis

This afternoon I wanted to add another quick report to the system I’m building, and it was so easy that I thought I’d share some of the details. As I’ve written here before, I’m using the RaphaelJS library for simple charts, and it makes it very simple to create bar charts and pie charts. So I’ve already got a couple of those, using common code as I described in that earlier posting.

When I wanted to create a new chart, then, I knew I could leverage that. First, though, I needed to get at my data. What I was getting was essentially a list of categories, and the number of items in each category. Since this is stored in Redis, the items are key-value entries, and each category is a Set to which items belong. In this particular case, each item belongs to only one set.

So for the sake of an example, let’s say that we have books, divided into categories. We’ll store the books with keys like book:#:title and each category set will be called cat:name:

  • book:1234:title => “Technical Book”
  • book:5678:title => “Another Tech Book”
  • book:9012:title => “Gardening Book”
  • cat:technical => 1234, 5678
  • cat:gardening => 9012

So, for charting purposes, we want to get a list of the categories, and then for each one we want to fetch the number of books in it. In my reports_controller I have this:

  def books_by_category
    @chart = params[:chart] || "bar"
    @chart_title = "Books by Category"

    redis = Redis.new
    # Get the list of the categories, which are the labels for the graph
    keys = redis.keys("cat:*")

    # Now let's iterate through the categories and get the counts
    @labels = []
    @values = []
    keys.sort.each do |cat|
      count = redis.set_count(cat)
      @values << count
      cat_name = cat.scan(/cat:(.*)/)[0][0]
      if (@chart == 'pie')  # Need to add counts to the labels for pie charts
        cat_name << " (#{count})"
      end
      @labels << cat_name
    end
  end

First we get a Redis connection, and ask it for all of the category keys, using the pattern chosen: redis.keys("cat:*"). I want to stress something here: if you read the Redis docs (which of course you should, in depth) you’ll see that they say to never use this command in a production app! Obviously, if you have a lot of keys in the database, this is not a good command. In this particular case, I know that the database being used will not have too many keys, so I’m comfortable doing this — but be careful and make sure it’s okay for your case! If not, the solution is to create a new set that contains the names of all of the categories. Grab that set using SORT and work from there, which is simple. I also want to stress that, as with any reporting, if your data set grows (i.e. you start to have lots and lots of categories), you don’t want to run this frequently! Do the count occasionally and cache the results, create roll-up data from which to do your reporting, etc. This is a very simple case, but is a nice example of some tools.

Okay, so then we have the categories, and we iterate through them. For each, we get the count of entries using redis.set_count(cat). The redis-rb library aliases “set_count” to be the Redis command SCARD, which returns the cardinality of the set, i.e. the number of entries. We add that onto the @values array, and then create the category name by taking everything after “cat:” from the key. If we’re making a pie chart, we add the count to the labels, simply because I found that it’s very friendly that way. We add the category name to the labels array, and continue.

That’s pretty much it then! Using the previous reporting code, I just had to create a new view, which includes the partials I created before — the partials expect the @labels and @values arrays, so they’ll just graph whatever they get. Here’s the actual view:

<%= render :partial => "report_chart" %>

<br/><br/>

<h1>Reports : Books by Category</h1>
<%= render :partial => "report_links" %>

<br/><br/>

<div id="holder"></div>

If you refer back to my earlier post about RaphaelJS graphing, the report_chart partial contains the Javascript to generate the chart. The report_links partial simply has code to create links to the various chart types for this data: pie, bar, and csv. The holder div is where the RaphaelJS Javascript will render the chart.

And that’s all there is to it. Thanks to the ease of Redis sets, getting the data sliced and diced as needed was extremely simple, and thanks to easy Javascript reporting from RaphaelJS, the plain old label/value charting couldn’t be much quicker.

2 comments
  1. Brian said:

    No demo?

  2. If you mean a live demo online, unfortunately I’m not able to do that. This work is for my employer and I’ve modified some things in order to hide proprietary details. I also don’t have a work server on which I could host a demo.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

