Getting user info into a Radiant page

This took me a while so I thought I should share the solution — however, see the caveat at the end, because there’s an element I haven’t tested yet.

The first requirement here is integrating Devise into Radiant. For the most part, the information at this page will get you there, though I’ll work on a separate post going through the process in detail. Once you have Devise working, then you have a user object, and naturally you’d like to display a “Logged in as…” element in your Radiant layout, right? Not so easy, it turns out.

In my testing I called the Devise model PortalUser since it has to be differentiated from the User model that Radiant uses. I put the authentication stuff into a custom extension, which we’ll call “my_auth”. So, I end up with my_auth_extension.rb:

class MyAuthExtension < Radiant::Extension
  
  SiteController.class_eval do
    include ContentManagement
    prepend_before_filter {|controller| controller.instance_eval {Thread.current[:current_portal_user] = current_portal_user} }
    prepend_before_filter {|controller| controller.instance_eval {authenticate_portal_user! if radiant_page_request?}}
  end

  # activate() method left out for brevity
end

The filter to call authenticate_portal_user! is needed to get Devise working. The other filter is the important one here, and what it does is get the current_portal_user reference in the controller and place it into the current thread for later access. This is the only way I’ve found (so far) to get something from a controller in Radiant to a tag. I’ve tried various instance variable tricks, all sorts of things, with no luck. If anyone has another solution, please do comment below, because yes, this seems like a hack.

Now we go create a new tag to display the logged-in user’s email address. In our extension we have lib/user_tags.rb:

module UserTags
  include Radiant::Taggable

  desc "Outputs the user email address"
  tag "user_email" do |tag|
    current_user = Thread.current[:current_portal_user]
    @user_email = current_user.email
    parse_template 'usertags/_email_template'
  end

  private

    def parse_template(filename)
      require 'erb'
      template = ''
      File.open("#{MyAuthExtension.root}/app/views/" + filename + '.html.erb', 'r') { |f|
        template = f.read
      }
      ERB.new(template).result(binding)
    end
end

First, let me give credit for the parse_template() method to Chris Parrish in this post. This tag simply gets the user object from the thread, and sets @user_email accordingly, which can then be used by the ERB template. parse_template() grabs the partial using the filename passed in, and renders it, which ends up being output by the tag. The partial, which lives in your extension as app/views/usertags/_email_template.html.erb, is simply:

<%= @user_email %>

So there’s nothing to that, really. If you modify your Radiant layout to include Logged in as: <r:user_email /> then you should be all set.

At the beginning I mentioned a caveat. I have not tested this yet to see what the effects of Radiant’s caching are — I am assuming that the tag contents will not be cached and thus all is well, but we will see. I’ve been bitten by the caching before in unexpected ways.

Anyway, I hope this helps someone out.

1 comment
  1. Thanks for this – it’s exactly what I needed. I have a custom controller and when you visit /people/123 I want the r:person:name tag to display person 123’s name.

    However, I do believe that in your case – where you’re passing user information around – you will get hit by caching. The reason Radiant makes it difficult to access a controller from a tag is because a tag is just a constituent of a page and a page is supposed to be a model.

    In other words, “transient” stuff, like who is logged in, is not part of the model.

    For my sites I’ve handled this embedding some JS on the generated page that calls into a custom controller – as it’s calling a controller you can render any view you want with full access to the current session.

    You can see this in action here: http://www.interimpartners.com/for-candidates – the box in the top right displays a login link or a link to your profile, depending upon if you are logged in – however, at first it shows a spinner as it makes the AJAX request back to the controller which then decides which partial to render based upon your session.

Leave a Reply

